Currently…

Listening to: wind and rain. But fortunately we have no snow: commiserations if you have been less lucky. (The VHC would welcome snow, which he has never seen, but I’m a tad older, and the novelty has worn off.)

Reading: back to Terry Pratchett.

Watching: about an hour ago a fine dog fox crossed our back garden He was too quick for a photograph, unfortunately.

Making: I’ve completed one and a half socks. I’ve been doing a lot of embroidery this week, so the sock has had little attention. I picked it up again while watching ‘Witnesses: a Frozen Death’, but turning a heel then knitting a diagonal rib while reading subtitles tends to lead to errors. Fortunately there were a lot of silences.

The knitted hat is probably going to be frogged. I found this on Ravelry, and I know someone who would probably like a hat with horses on it, but I need at least one more colour. I am not going anywhere near the town centre till Christmas is over, (my dear, the noise, the people) so it will not be a Christmas present.

I gave up on the thermogauze French knots sample, which went very peculiar when I zapped it. So it and the rest of the thermogauze has gone in the bin. In its stead, and inspired by Anne Brandon Jones and Sharon Boggon, I have started a band sampler. Sharon’s was, the last time I checked, nearly 30 metres long. Mine is about 30cm, but it’s growing. I started by working Stitches from Brandon Jones ‘Simple Stitch Patterns for Embroidery’, but of course I have added my own ideas.

None of this is very original, but my creative mojo is hiding, and I doubt it will reappear until all the family trouble is resolved. But as I have to do something with my hands, simple embroidery is not too demanding, and the short rows of a sampler mean that I don’t get bored.

Feeling: The troublesome family member has gone quiet recently, and I think we are nearing the end of the legal process. However we had some rather depressing news on another front this week. Nothing life threatening, but it has meant we have had to do some rethinking. We are on to plan B now, which, as always at Cheese Acres, is preparing for Plan C.

Anticipating: another busy week, but it culminates in a visit to the panto with the grands. Should be fun!

Leave a comment