Currently…

Currently…

Listening: to silence masked by tinnitus.

Reading: ‘Belshazzar’s Daughter’ by Barbara Nader. I’m always attracted by books set abroad, – this one is set in Turkey. I’m enjoying it, despite some blood and gore at the beginning, and the unpleasantness of all the characters, although the protagonist is growing on me.

Watching: still BBC 4’s Japanese series. I’m learning a lot about what is clearly a fascinating country.

Making: I abandoned the socks when I realised I didn’t have enough wool, and started a modular shawl. It’s rather more complex than the sock pattern, and this has been such a stressful week, I’ve made lots of mistakes. But as it’s modular, I never have to pull back more than a maximum 50 stitches and 30 rows.

The Sue Stone inspired sampling has been enjoyable and inspiring: it’s surprising how many variations of simple straight stitch I can think up. I’ve been thinking about how I can use them in a resolved piece – the problem is that such graphic stitching seems unlikely to work well on organic shapes. I’ve got a couple of ideas, but I need to get them down on paper.

I’ve finished another week of ICAD, despite not feeling very inspired. 

Feeling: stressed and down. The unhelpful family member has been causing trouble again. But…

Anticipating: the Tour de France starts on July 1st. That might cheer me up – provided the right men ride and do well!

Leave a Reply

