Currently…

Currently…

Listening: to the sound of the vacuum cleaner, operated by W. Yes, he’s wonderful.

Reading: the novella, ‘Where Three Roads Meet’ by Salley Vickers. One of the Canongate Myths series, it’s the story of Oedipus, told to Freud, in the last months of his life, by a mysterious stranger. Full of ideas about philosophy and religion, as Salley Vickers’ books always are. 

Watching: late night cycling – I suppose I should be grateful to ITV 4 for showing the Critérium du Dauphiné and the Women’s Tour, but do they have to be on so late?

Making: comfort knitting socks. I think of these as ‘Where’s Wally?’ socks, also intended for Wensleydale.

I’ve finished my Liz Payne/hawthorn inspired piece. I really like the effect of embroidery over paint, and intend to return to it. In the meantime it’s back to Dawn Thorne, sort of. This is as far as I’ve got.  

Make Something Every Day is definitely on the back burner, ICAD has taken over. These are the first four. I’m trying to be more adventurous this year, and to actually do some drawing, but I haven’t yet plucked up courage to do it. 

Feeling: there are signs of progress, but I’m still up and down. Remarkably, I’m sleeping better than I have for ages – as long as I don’t wake up in the small hours, as I did this morning. I can stop myself brooding at bed time, but at 3 a.m.? No chance. 

Anticipating: after the business of half term, getting back into our new routine.

Leave a Reply

