Currently..

Currently..

Listening: to Saturday Classics on – you guessed it – Radio 3. Lots of recordings by Toscanini, for a pleasantly old style afternoon.

Reading: ‘Practical Basketry Techniques’ by Stella Harding and Shane Waltener – because I’m converting the 7 metre iCord into a coiled pot – but slowly, because it’s hard on my arthritic hands.

Watching: not Scandi noir tonight, we’re a bit underwhelmed by this one. We’ve decided that 90 minutes of Paula Rego on BBC2 is more to our taste.

Making: still sampling and samplering. I’m working my way though Nicky Epstein’s ‘Knitting in Circles’, trying out different methods of making bases. Not very exciting to photograph, as they all look similar, apart from differences in the pattern of increases/decreases. And the green wool I’ve used for the borders shrinks more than the blue, so they curl up a bit.


The Year of Stitches sampler has made good progress – I think the end is in sight. I’m much happier with this one than the first. 


Less happy about this morning’s experiments with alcohol inks – one of those things I bought because they were fashionable and then didn’t quite know what to do with. I’d read somewhere that you can marble with them if you float them in water, so I tried it. And you can’t. (Well, I can’t. More skilful hands that mine may be able to.) I ended up with some yucky splodges on various bits of plastic, which began to flake off as they dried.  

I have used the inks successfully by smooshing them on plastic with bits of felt, but I wasn’t excited by the results, so I’ve added them to the long list of things which aren’t my cup of tea and put what’s left in the bin. 

Feeling: quite cheerful – which may be because the sun is shining.

Anticipating: something approaching a ‘normal week’ – i.e. just child care, shopping, household stuff and playing with bits of string. Bet it doesn’t happen

Leave a Reply

