Currently..

Currently..

Listening: to my Amazon playlist on random – currently George Dyson’s 3rd violin concerto. Dyson is a find from our Radio 3 listening: we liked it so much we bought the CD.

Reading: Still ‘The Lighthouse Stevensons’ by Bella Bathurst. It’s an interesting read, especially in its examination of how the combination of hard work, skill, and luck contributed to the rise of the Stevensons.

Watching: Scandi-noir returns tonight! 

Making: a new Year of Stitches piece. Still fairly open ended, but I’m playing around with a few ideas. The fabric is a bit of home dyeing which has been hanging around for years waiting for its purpose in life to become evident. I’ve chosen toning threads, because I’m interested in the ways stitch can appear and disappear on a similarly coloured background. And, after I had the idea of adding words, I’ve been thinking about samplers. Not the moralising Victorian samplers designed to bore little girls into compliance with endless cross stitch, more the 17thC ones used record stitch and pattern ideas. 

Typical of me to start something that’s just play and then overthink it… 

I’m sampling knitting too, you’ll be amazed to hear, although this one hasn’t got very far yet. 

Feeling: knackered. The ‘little spring tidying’ I mentioned last week has turned into a major clear out. I’m a hoarder of magazine tear sheets, course notes, stuff from the internet etc., but I’ve decided things have got out of hand, and most of it has to go. It’s been surprisingly easy to decide what I no longer have any interest in, and I reckon I’ve cut it down by half. But heaving ring binders around and throwing papers in the bin is surprisingly hard on the back.

Then I looked in my bead stash to find some for the embroidered sampler – and a lot of that has got to go too…

Anticipating: more destashing tomorrow.
.

One thought on “Currently..

  1. OH! bead stash. Any red ones? I am ‘running out’ or more truthfully, I don’t have 31 different ones. Need about 4 or 5 more.
    But I can always find use for beads and if not, I send them to Zimbabwe with my friend when returns after her yearly visit to her family. She gives them to some ladies who are making woven bead bowls.

    Anyway, if you haven’t already tossed beads, maybe we can work out something?
    Sandy

    Like

Leave a Reply

