Currently…

Currently…

Listening: to ‘Sound of Cinema’ on Radio 3. Not my favourite Radio 3 programme, since I have little interest in the cinema, but it’s OK.
Reading: I’ve just started ‘The Lighthouse Stevensons’ by Bella Bathurst. I find many biographies impenetrable – I get lost in the detail of who, where, what and when – but so far I’m managing to keep up with this one.Watching: not a lot. 

Making: I’ve decided that I will soldier on with the Year of Stitches piece to the end of the month, then start another one, which will be smaller and more preplanned. Picking colours at random, and plonking shapes down with no idea why, doesn’t work for me. 

In knitting I’m still sampling, though I have started some babysitting knitting – a shawl from Ravelry. It’s easier to grab and go on the way out – a ball of yarn, a circular needle and a 4 row pattern which is on the internet if I manage to forget it. Then knit till the yarn runs out and it’s bound to fit someone.


These are the completed samples – there are several ideas there for when I feel like making a resolved piece. I was surprised by how little the holes closed up in the holey one on the left. I’ve also been experimenting with decorative edge treatments from Nicky Epstein’s edging books. 

Feeling: more cheerful. My beloved cherry tree is in flower, which is the signal that spring is on its way. I’ve even been motivated to do a little spring tidying.

Anticipating: a quiet day tomorrow before our usual busy Monday.
.

Leave a Reply

