Currently…

Currently…

Listening: to a time-shifted session of ‘Late Junction’ from Radio 3. Normally it’s on long past my bedtime – although as last night I didn’t get to sleep till after 4 a.m, I could have listened to it live, had it been on. If you like eclectic music and you haven’t discovered Late Junction, give it a try. Radio 3 doesn’t just do the classics.
Reading: ‘Night’s Cloak’ by E.R. Punshon, on the Kindle app. I’m not really a great fan of ebooks – I much prefer the real thing – but I like to have a few downloaded for ‘no new real books to read’ emergencies. It’s a detective story set during WW2, so you can probably imagine what it’s like. Not quite up to Ian Rankin, Henning Manuel or Graham Hurley.

Watching: a quick glance through Radio Times suggests two programmes we might actually watch next week – both on BBC4, both on art. (Yes, we are very picky.) Thank goodness for Radio 3 and a large collection of CDs. 


Making: the black intermittent Year is Stitches piece is finished and blocked. (The little white blobs are Shoshone.)

What am I going to do with it? Who knows? I wondered about making it into a bag but: 1) I have enough never-used handmade bags to stock a shop, and 2) I don’t have the motivation. I used to love making bags, needle books, pincushions etc, but now I have no interest in them at all. 

The beige one, which gets worked on every day is making slow progress. I don’t like it and I was thinking about calling it finished too, but I’ve decided to soldier on as it’s a good learning experience. 


Another SKS (Strange Knitted Sample) is in progress. Yes, that is lamé fabric knitted in. It shreds if you look at it – the floor is covered with little glittery threads, and I think the strips may disintegrate completely in the washer, which could be interesting. Last week’s SKS’s haven’t yet made it into the washing machine, they should get there tomorrow.

The piece at the top did get washed – it’s in Airedale’s felting wool, which reminds me a bit of a rather restrained Noro, albeit a tad cheaper. I’m tempted to get some more to try some different shapes. It’s great for an easy SKO as the yarn does all the work.

Feeling: a little more cheerful. I’ve been quite productive all day, which often happens after a bad night. Based on past experience, however, tomorrow will be a different story – hence…

Anticipating: an inert day on Sunday before we gear up on Monday for the little guys’ return to school.

.

Leave a Reply

