A Bad Week

The entire country has been infected with a mystery disease. Half the population think it is worth while giving ourselves this disease, as it will cure another one they think we have, despite having no idea what the effects of the mystery disease will be. The rest of us think the mystery disease is likely to have life changing effects, even if it isn’t terminal, and dread the consequences.

The person responsible for exposing us all has washed his hands of it all, and we’re left in the hands of a group of lying buffoons who, despite having encouraged us to expose ourselves to the illness, seem to have made no plans on how to deal with it.

And meantime, those who chose to get us all infected, and who, in practice, are more likely to suffer from the consequences, are telling the rest us to suck it up and stop moaning. Which I, for one, find very irritating.

I think we may have been cursed by the Chinese (‘may you live in interesting times’) – who are, of course, most likely to profit from all this. Wait till we are economically at death’s door, and then buy up the country.

So, to more positive things.

image

A completed embroidery of 4 red circles.There are 4 there – see the back for proof – but they are well camouflaged. The background is basketweave tent stitch, the circles are in conventional tent stitch, half cross, basketweave worked in the opposite direction to the background, and a thicker thread, which in real life is more visible than it seems in the photo.

I have ideas for following this up, but no time…

 

 

 

I have four finished felted samples – but only one photo, because two of them are boring, and the third photo came out blurry. I’ll try to remember to have another go before I post again.

 

image

This one is blue cotton tucks of various sizes on a white wool background, and white wool tucks on a blue cotton background. The cotton came from a charity shop, and as it is packed in ounce balls, must be (please wait while I Google) at least 40 years old.

(Interesting Google article on metrication – did you know that the only countries which don’t use the metric system are the US, Liberia and Burma? And that before metrication we had over 40 sizes of ‘threaded fastenings ‘ [nuts and bolts to you and me] which were replaced by just 7 metric sizes?)

But I digress.

image

So here are two ‘Make Something Every Day’ (MSED – I’m getting bored typing all that) prompts: make something under water, and make something with staples – somewhat freely interpreted.

The bottles have been wrapped in something called forming felt,  which I bought ages ago for no reason that I can remember. You can shape it by damping it and forming it over a mould, but I soaked it in a bucket for the underwater bit. Then I wrapped it round a couple of bottles, and dipped them in Brusho, so the bottoms were underwater – well, underBrusho. When the colour had soaked in, I turned them upside down for the trickle down effect. When it’s all dried (24 hours and counting) I shall make bases from the flat bits and add some stitch.

The unexciting index card serves 4 purposes in one – two prompts and two of my current obsessions. There’s the MSED prompt to use staples, and one of this weeks ICAD prompts, ‘magenta’. The obsessions are tone on tone, and circles – the shapes are (very) vaguely circular. I’m practicing economy for the future, as I think I may need it.

Leave a Reply

